Support Our Sponsors! Click On Their Banner To Visit Their Site!

Moderators: HotRodAl
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone load the 25/20? Login/Join 

Picture of Duffy
posted
Do you form from 32/20?
Cast or jacketed and weight?
Powders?
Best dies for forming & loading?
Is it true that 25/20 brass is thicker than 32/20?

Friend of mine acquired a lever action from grandpa and would like to enjoy it. I’ve been reading up on it some to help him out with it. So far have heard brass is delicate & to take time with re-forming brass. Just looking for any tips from the always reliable sources here.

------------------------------

A body at rest stays at rest, until the wife shows up.
Ryan

Posts: 4605 | Location: Odessa Wa. | Registered: September 27, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of FyrepowrX
posted Hide Post
i've been shooting a couple of contenders in 25/20 for several years now...have a 9" tapered contour MGM conetnder barrel i topped with a 1X Burris that i do some plinking with. the other is a 20" SSK tapered contour contender carbine barrel, wearing a 1.75-6x compact.

for a while, i also had a 21" tapered TC custom shop contender carbine, also with a 1.75-6x.

i've had pretty good luck with Lil Gun, 4227, and 1680, with 75 grain bullets. I do shoot some cast now & then, mainly in the 9" barrel as plinking load, those are 85 grain cast by Missouri Cast Bullets. The Rem 86gr soft point shot great, but R-P dropped those , and about all of their component bullets in fact.

i'll look up the data, i also had a light hunting load with VV-N320 using 75 grain bullets that was my "slightly-more-than-22magnum-power" loads for smacking squirrels and stuff.

The speer 75gr FN has been my most used bullets, mostly because 10 years ago or so i bought a crate of 7000pcs at a good price....i shot most of those up in various .257-bore rifles, for both hunting & fire-forming loads, and have since been shooting the Hornady V-Max a fair bit.