Support Our Sponsors! Click On Their Banner To Visit Their Site!

Moderators: HotRodAl
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

High Primers??? Login/Join 

posted
Ok I have been reloading for probably 25 years or better but not to the volume/extent that some of you do and I’ve never had this issue. While checking the fired 25 creed brass with the shoulder bump gage I picked up a new case out of the load block to see how much shorter the shoulder length was vs. the fired cases. The case had already been primed so as an afterthought I checked the center of the primer against the case head and found that the primers are about .002"-.0025" high. I know that in an automatic this could be a problem but in an xp100 is there any real problem that this could cause either safety wise or accuracy wise. I don't have a primer pocket uniformer but plan to pick one up maybe tomorrow. Any experience/advice you have with this would be welcomed.

Bruce

This message has been edited. Last edited by: BruceP,

Posts: 950 | Location: Georgia | Registered: September 19, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Did you CLEAN the primer pockets. Is this pistol brass reprimed with
RIFLE primers. Do you have any extra cases that you CAN measure the pocket depth AND the primer height. Factories COMPtines make a oops that gets out the door. The hole in the case MIGHT BE shallow. A fellow that shot A LOT of sillywets tried to seat some HIGH primers after they were in LOADED CASES. After punching 25 or 30 in flush with case, he had a discharge! Luckily Joe was in the garage

Posts: 3978 | Location: home | Registered: November 26, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jhalcott:
Did you CLEAN the primer pockets. Is this pistol brass reprimed with