Support Our Sponsors! Click On Their Banner To Visit Their Site!

Moderators: HotRodAl
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.284 and rl17 Login/Join 

Picture of bowstryder
posted
Has anyone had good success with this combo in 150-162 class bullets?
Charge weight, bbl length and velocity if anyone has anything.

Posts: 444 | Location: waynesboro, va | Registered: January 05, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Couple of good discussions on RL 17 and it’s temperature sensitive. Take a look at RL23.

http://forum.accurateshooter.c...for-284-win.3847399/

http://forum.accurateshooter.c...-with-rl-17.3809977/

Posts: 1896 | Location: Ohio | Registered: November 06, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of McClura
posted Hide Post
I started shooting the .284 in an Encore MGM 15" barrel a few years back. Used Varget and H4831SC. All my testing was with 140grn Ballistic Tips. Ended up using H4831SC and the 140grn BT's. It was a shooter. I did this because I had a XP100 in .284 ordered from Apache Machine. Got the Xp, installed a Burris 3x12 BP and started shooting the same load that I had worked up with the Encore.
Varget shot very well, but the H4831SC was running just a little, I mean like 75-100 fps more and was just as accurate and it didn't matter if it was summer or dead of winter. I have picked up several hundred Accubonds and now that is my hunting load in 140 grain. I have been shooting some 150grn Sierra's just to practice and they shoot just a good with the Varget. I have about 10 lbs of it so I use it for practice.
Never run RL17. Never can find the stuff around here anyway.
Good luck with your shooting.

Mike

---------------------------------
: Don't make old people mad. We don't like being old in the first place, so it doesn't take much to tick us off.

Posts: 2932 | Location: Norman, OK | Registered: November 05, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of HandCanonShootr
posted Hide Post