Support Our Sponsors! Click On Their Banner To Visit Their Site!

Moderators: nmhunter
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Amateur hackery on a Savage stock Login/Join 

Picture of feets
posted
Larry (Tinkerer) came over today so I could turn some lovely Claro Walnut into smoke. He wanted the basic bits of the stock cut with a degree of accuracy and I'm got a Gorton Super Speed vertical mill that doubles as a one ton router. We knocked out the basics and he will finish the rest by hand.

I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to machining wood so I probably got the feeds and speeds wrong but the wood looks really nice. I can't wait to see it when he's done.

Here's a rough-n-dirty video of the work.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XkQEtwxlCk

Posts: 726 | Location: Dallas | Registered: December 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of Leupold Man
posted Hide Post
Very cool thanks for sharing!!!

---------------------------------
Veteran and NRA Life Member

Posts: 2724 | Location: Waterloo Wisconsin | Registered: October 22, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of blades
posted Hide Post
Vertical mill - best over arm router I have used. Mine are knee mills a Bridge port, a millport ( bp clone- old) and a Frankenport and an old #333 horz. mill
Over kill for wood working but fun.

Posts: 529 | Location: WI | Registered: August 04, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Nice start feets. Larry hope you keep us updated with pics as this one progresses. Used to be lots of Savage guys showing off their builds in here around 2010. Not sure if they are still around or not but I never see a post from them anymore. EugeneinNC comes to mind with that purple stocked Savage on a PTA sitting on his fuzz rest.

Posts: 1607 | Location: East Central Iowa | Registered: December 29, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of Arrowflinger
posted Hide Post