Support Our Sponsors! Click On Their Banner To Visit Their Site!

Moderators: nmhunter
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Contemplating a Change Login/Join 

posted
I’ve been shooting TC Contenders for almost 25 years now, and due to some unfortunate circumstances and idiocy on my part I have irreparably damage my sole G2 frame. With current prices on frames in general I am contemplating a change to a bolt pistol.

I have discovered the Kauger Arms and had some correspondence with them recently about getting a Black Widow from them, I like the design, the look and most of maybe, the people behind the company, they have been super helpful and accommodating with my ignorant questions.

I have a couple questions for you guys that have been doing this longer than me:

1: what am I giving up going bolt pistol vs contender? I know quick barrel changes is one, but I’m over that now for the most part, but what am I not considering that I’m giving up?

2: I’m fairly heavily invested in 30 cal stuff and am considering having the black widow made in 308 win for general versatility, I do not plan nor can I afford multiples of these firearms, I will only have one for the time being. That being said am I thinking right in the versatility of the 308 win vs the 6.5 creed or 6.5x47L? I have to buy dies and brass for any of them so that’s not a current concern. As far as my uses, I’m in Kentucky and hunt this area and maybe the Ozarks and/or southeast in the future. I do put in for the Ky Elk draw every year but that’s a pipe dream hope. I’m looking for something to take whitetail, hogs, predators etc out to a max of 300 yards, also looking for something that is kind of my limited component supplies. I’ve been shooting the 30-30 AI a long time so something in the 35-45 gr powder range is nice.

Posts: 198 | Location: W. KY | Registered: October 07, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post