Support Our Sponsors! Click On Their Banner To Visit Their Site!

Moderators: nmhunter
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need advice on an XP build. Login/Join 

Picture of Pa. Mike
posted
Hello all ! I am new to SP but not new to the sport and I need some advice. I am going to have an XP built with a 15" barrel chambered in 6MM XC which I plan to use for long range varmint shooting. I want to use 70 - 80 grain bullets. Because this round was designed for 105 grain plus , VLD target bullets I am concerned that the throat / lead for the standard chamber will not allow me to seat my bullets close enough to the rifling to achieve top accuracy. I had P.T.G. draw up a reamer print designed for the lighter varmint bullets but I wonder if it is really necessary or beneficial ? Any advice from anybody familiar with this round would be greatly appreciated . Thank you !

Posts: 948 | Location: South Central Pennsylvania | Registered: February 07, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of nmhunter
posted Hide Post
Welcome to SP. great question, look forward to seeing answers to your question.
Nmhunter

Posts: 4539 | Location: madisonville ky USA | Registered: October 31, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Ernie Bishop runs a 6X , maybe he will see this and chime in.

Posts: 1363 | Location: LAKE CUMBERLAND AREA, KY | Registered: February 11, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of Gator T/C
posted Hide Post
Welcome! Not sure if you have heart already set on a 6XC or not BUT......